People Under The Stairs-The Next Step (1998)

My Rating: 53% (D+)

Pitchfork Rating: N/A

Rolling Stone Rating: N/A

Metacritic Rating: N/A

Average Rating: 53%

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. Intro / 4 Everybody
  2. Death Of A Salesman
  3. Hardcore (Feat. Smile-Oak)
  4. Wannabes
  5. Ten Tough Guys
  6. Mid-City Fiesta
  7. Slow Bullet
  8. San Francisco Knights
  9. The Turndown (Feat. Assault)
  10. Time To Rock Our Shit
  11. The Tamburo 5 (Feat. Naimad, Assault & Shine 5)
  12. Los Angeles Daze
  13. The Next Step II
  14. D.A.R.E.
  15. Asshole (Feat. Assault)
  16. Play It Again / Outro

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Want to dig for a couple great People Under The Stairs tracks.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

Classic Hip-Hop cover. It’s rad.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:

No, this was a miss.

Final Thoughts:

Let me start with saying I do love People Under The Stairs, I believe that The Dig deserves to be on the list for 100 greatest hip-hop songs of all time, any true hip hop head would include them in such a list. But here’s the thing, The Next Step is more of a jam session than an actual album. There are very few hooks or even tangible themes throughout the tracks, and honestly it’s a really ballsy thing to do. One of the emcees known for having hookless tracks is MF Doom, and, well with all due respect, to quote Zorak “you’re no doom.” It’s an album that wants to be a De La Soul or Tribe Called Quest release, but isn’t as calculated as those groups tend to be.

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑