Visionaries-Sophomore Jinx (1999)

My Rating: 82 (B+)

Pitchfork Rating: N/A

Rolling Stone Rating: N/A

Metacritic Rating: N/A

Average Rating: 82 (B+)

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. Never The Same
  2. Top Choice
  3. Making Things Right (Love Rules All)
  4. Quattroduction
  5. Stand Still
  6. Reach
  7. DJ’s MC’s
  8. Somersault Suicide
  9. La Fresh
  10. Tipping The Scales
  11. Peace Mic
  12. Self Sufficient
  13. Come One Come All
  14. Spiritual Warfare
  15. Everybody’s Lying
  16. Thicken Up
  17. Who?
  18. Honorable Mention
  19. Together or Separate


Up Above Records

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Wanting some pure hip hop.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

Super 90’s it’s hilarious.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:


Final Thoughts:

Visionaries are yet another underground hip hop super group, as with most supergroups of the time, most, if not all, of the emcees involved went on to become successful with their solo careers as well. Visionaries gave us LMNO and 2Mex, 2Mex being the standout emcee of the crew. Sophomore Jinx is pure hip hop, simple beats, lots of samples and scratches, with an emcee spitting vivid imagery over the whole thing. If you’re a fan of the art in itself then Sophomore Jinx is an album to dig into, if you are more into current hip hop this might be a bit out of your comfort zone.

Blog at

Up ↑