Thundercat-Drunk (2017)

Record Review Requested By: Samantha Matheson

My Rating: 85% (B++)

Pitchfork Rating: 85%

Rolling Stone Rating: N/A

Metacritic Rating: 80%

Average Rating:  83%

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. Rabbot Ho
  2. Captain Stupido
  3. Uh Uh
  4. Bus In These Streets
  5. A Fan’s Mail (Tron Song Suite II)
  6. Lava Lamp
  7. Jethro
  8. Day & Night
  9. Show You The Way (feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)
  10. Walk On By (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
  11. Blakkk
  12. Tokyo
  13. Jameel’s Space Ride
  14. Friend Zone
  15. Them Changes
  16. Where I’m Going
  17. Drink Dat (feat. Wiz Khalifa)
  18. Inferno
  19. I Am Crazy
  20. 3AM
  21. Drunk
  22. The Turn Down (feat. Pharrell)
  23. DUI

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

You want something experimental and funky.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

Friggin’ awesome and terrifying.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:


Final Thoughts:

I can safely say that I have never heard anything quite like Drunk, it’s a truly one of a kind experience. Ridiculous lyrics, crazy sounds, way too many tracks for one album, it’s as if you are listening to Tim and Eric as a funk album. It’s hard to take the album too seriously, but honestly it’s just really good/fun music. I don’t know if it came on on shuffle if those nearby could appreciate it for what it is, but I think as an album not knowing what you’re getting yourself into but open to new experiences it can be quite the space ride. For fans of techno, funk, and hip-hop you’ll find plenty to fawn over.

Blog at

Up ↑