A Tribe Called Quest-We Got It from Here… Thank You 4 Your Service (2016)

My Rating: 81% (B+)

Pitchfork Rating: 90%

Rolling Stone Rating: 80%

Metacritic Rating: N/A

Average Rating: 83.7%

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. The Space Program
  2. We The People….
  3. Whateva Will Be
  4. Solid Wall of Sound
  5. Dis Generation
  6. Kids…
  7. Melatonin
  8. Enough!!
  9. Mobius
  10. Black Spasmodic
  11. The Killing Season
  12. Lost Somebody
  13. Movin Backwards
  14. Conrad Tokyo
  15. Ego
  16. The Donald

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Looking to find a contemporary release from the Zulu Nation.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

It’s rad. I kind of wish they continued with their mascot on the cover, but it’s still a really cool looking cover.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:

Yep most old school hip-hop would be amazing on vinyl.

Final Thoughts:

A Tribe Called Quest was a highly influential Hip-Hop group, we thought we had heard all there was to hear from the group but they surprised us with We Got It from Here… Thank You 4 Your Service in 2016. Phife Dawg never got to see the release of this album which is just heartbreaking because it was a solid addition to their discography. Maybe a little uneven, (some tracks do not flow to the next very well) but overall an album that may give you some flashbacks of your highschool years skateboarding and being counter culture.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑