Zion I-True & Livin’ (2005)

My Rating: 78% (B)

Pitchfork Rating: N/A

Rolling Stone Rating: N/A

Metacritic Rating: N/A

Average Rating: 78% (B)

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. True
  2. Doing My Thing
  3. Bird’s Eye View
  4. The Bay
  5. Luv
  6. Soo Tall
  7. I Need M
  8. Rockin’
  9. Temperature (Feat. Talib Kweli)
  10. One Chance
  11. Amerika
  12. Poems 4 Post Modern Decay (Feat. Aesop Rock)
  13. Heads Up
  14. Next 2 U
  15. What U Hear (Feat. Del)
  16. Stranger In My Home (Feat. Gift Of Gab)
  17. Oh Lawd
  18. Livin’


LiveUp Records

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Wanting some uplifting melodic hip hop.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

It’s alright.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:


Final Thoughts:

I love when albums catch me off guard, there’s little better when I have no expectations going into an album and it turns out to be a wonderful record. True & Livin’ did exactly that for me, I’ve always liked Zion I, but this album bumped them up a notch. It’s no wonder that their song Temperature broke into the mainstream, what with Talib lending some help and the fact that True & Livin’ was a solid offering as a whole for hip hop heads to delve into. With features to make you giddy, Zion I may never have or will be better than True & Livin’.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑