Ol’ Dirty Bastard-Return To The 36 Chambers (1995)

My Rating: 74% (B-)

Pitchfork Rating: N/A

Rolling Stone Rating: N/A

Metacritic Rating: N/A

Average Rating: 74%

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. Intro
  2. Shimmy Shimmy Ya
  3. Baby C’mon
  4. Brooklyn Zoo
  5. Hippa To Da Hoppa
  6. Raw Hide
  7. Damage
  8. Don’t You Know
  9. The Stomp
  10. Goin’ Down
  11. Drunk Game (Sweet Sugar Pie)
  12. Snakes
  13. Brookly Zoo II
  14. Protekt Ya Neck II The Zoo
  15. Cuttin’ Headz
  16. Dirty Dancin’
  17. Harlem World

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Wanting crazy non-conventional hip hop that’s grimy and dirty.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

It’s iconic, can’t say enough about it. A+

Want to Own on Vinyl?:

If it was on sale, sure.

Final Thoughts:

Ol’ Dirty Bastard is The Wu-Tang Clan’s wild card, while Method Man is sleepy, Redman is goofy, Ghostface is lyrically impressive, Ol’ Dirty sounds like he’s being unleashed from a cell somewhere deep in a mental asylum. Although this album is iconic among hip-hop heads, I personally thought it was a little too all over the place for my liking. When Dirty has his Clan members to keep him somewhat contained, his dangerous flow style is a breath of fresh air and keeps the Wu-Tang interesting and diverse. On his own though, there is nobody to reel the crazy man in, and although it makes for a unique and influential album, it doesn’t always make for the best listen. I love Dirty, there are some amazing tracks on Return To The 36 Chambers but it just will never mean as much to me as it seems to to others.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑