Iron & Wine-Beast Epic (2017)

My Rating: 97% (A+)

Pitchfork Rating: 75%

Rolling Stone Rating: 70%

Metacritic Rating: 80%

Average Rating: 81% (B+)

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. Claim Your Ghost
  2. Hearts Walk Everywhere
  3. Kicking the Old Rain
  4. Thomas County Law
  5. About a Bruise (Demo)
  6. Bitter Truth
  7. Claim Your Ghost (Demo)
  8. Song in Stone
  9. Summer Clouds
  10. Summer Clouds
  11. Call It Dreaming
  12. About a Bruise
  13. Last Night
  14. Right for Sky
  15. The Truest Stars We Know
  16. Our Light Miles

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Tired but happy.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

One of my favourites of theirs so far.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:


Final Thoughts:

The thing that is most impressive about Iron & Wine is how long he’s been making music and how consistently good his releases are. Beast Epic is nothing new, but I don’t want anything new from this artist, he’s perfected his sound and he’s glad to stay in his lane. Few artists get so much leeway when it comes to catching criticism as not growing (Jack Johnson is typically hated because his songs all sound the same) as Iron & Wine does. The main difference here is that all of Iron & Wine’s albums sound roughly the same, but their individual songs all have a life of their own, and it never seems to get old. Beast Epic is welcome material for Iron & Wine fans, but more cannon fodder for those who want to say that he’s a stagnant artist.

Iron & Wine-The Shepherd’s Dog (2007)

My Rating: 92% (A)

Pitchfork Rating: 86%

Rolling Stone Rating: N/A

Metacritic Rating: 84%

Average Rating: 87%

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. Pagan Angel And A Borrowed Car
  2. White Tooth Man
  3. Lovesong Of The Buzzard
  4. Carousel
  5. House By The Sea
  6. Innocent Bones
  7. Wolves (Song Of The Shepherd’s Dog)
  8. Resurrection Fern
  9. Boy With A Coin
  10. The Devil Never Sleeps
  11. Peace Beneath The City
  12. Flightless Bird, American Mouth

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You:

Need to grieve something. Or you’re alone in a cabin with a whiskey.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

Meh, it’s alright. I think as a vinyl it’d look cool, but  on my ipod it’s kinda whatever.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:


Final Thoughts:

This is one of those albums that I didn’t realize that was actually really close to my heart until I sat down and listened to the whole thing. It’s hit after hit, flowing smoothly from one song to another. Absolutely beautiful music.

Blog at

Up ↑