Fatlip-The Loneliest Punk (2005)

My Rating: 56% (D+)

Pitchfork Rating: N/A

Rolling Stone Rating: N/A

Metacritic Rating: 75%

Average Rating: 66% (C)

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. Fat Leezy
  2. Fatlip Intro
  3. First Heat
  4. The Bassline
  5. Freestyle
  6. Joe’s Turkey
  7. I Got Shit
  8. Writers Block
  9. M.I.A.
  10. The Story Of Us
  11. Cook
  12. Walkabout
  13. All On Fly
  14. Lyrical Styles
  15. Freaky Pumps (Feat Shock G, Humpty-Hump, Volume 10)
  16. He’s An Outsider
  17. What’s Up Fatlip
  18. Dreams

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Kinda tipsy out late skating.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

It’s pretty rad.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:

Not this one.

Final Thoughts:

This is one of those albums that I always thought I loved until I actually sat down and listened to the whole thing from start to end. Yes there are some absolutely incredible songs on The Loneliest Punk, What’s Up Fatlip, Cook, and Fat Leezy have been classic tracks for me for awhile, but there’s also a lot of dead space. It’s that classic conundrum of nostalgia vs. reality. I’ve always thought of this album in a good light, but I guess I really was just drawn to those few tracks. Fatlip is an incredible emcee, one that’s not gotten his dues for sure, but I’m starting to understand why. If the rest of his work is as inconsistent as this then maybe it’s time to stop wondering why he’s not a household name.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑