Evidence-The Layover E.P. (2008)

My Rating: 85% (B++)

Pitchfork Rating: N/A

Rolling Stone Rating: N/A

Metacritic Rating: N/A

Average Rating: 85% (B++)

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. The Layover
  2. For Whom The Bell Tolls feat. Phonte, Blu & will.i.am
  3. So Fresh (Step Brothers)
  4. Solitary Confinement ft. Krondon
  5. Don’t Hate ft. Defari
  6. My Favorite Part of Traveling (Interlude)
  7. Far Left ft. The Alchemist & Fashawn
  8. Rain or Shine
  9. To Be Determned ft. Elzhi and Aloe Blacc
  10. The Cold Weather

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Walking downtown at night.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

It’s pretty neutral, fits the tone.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:


Final Thoughts:

I love that a ten track album is called an E.P., if I had it my way, ten tracks would be the limit to the amount of songs you could have on an album, why? Because it distills the artist down in a more cohesive way. That’s what Evidence offers on The Layover E.P. a good sense of his flow, beats, and impressive production all around. Ev is actually most impressive as a producer, I loved his choices when putting together this album and how tightly each song flows into the next, he definitely has a love for the album and that shows in the very fact that he called it an E.P. instead of just releasing it as a “full album”. Whenever I hear Ev is involved in a project my mind is eased, I know he does his due diligence and that anything he attaches his name to will be creative and well thought out.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑