blink-182-California (Deluxe Edition) (2017)

Record Review Requested By: Drew Brown

My Rating: 21% (F)

Pitchfork Rating: 55%

Rolling Stone Rating: 70%

Metacritic Rating: 63%

Average Rating: 52.3%

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

Disc 1

  1. Cynical
  2. Bored To Death
  3. She’s Out Of Her Mind
  4. Los Angeles
  5. Sober
  6. Built This Pool
  7. No Future
  8. Home Is Such A Lonely Place
  9. Kings Of The Weekend
  10. Teenage Satellites
  11. Left Alone
  12. Rabbit Hole
  13. San Diego
  14. The Only Thing That Matters
  15. California
  16. Brohemian Rhapsody

Disc 2

  1. Parking Lot
  2. Misery
  3. Good Old Days
  4. Don’t Mean Anything
  5. Hey I’m Sorry
  6. Last Train Home
  7. Wildfire
  8. 6/8
  9. Long Lost Feeling
  10. Bottom of the Ocean
  11. Can’t Get You More Pregnant
  12. Bored To Death (Acoustic)

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Feeling self-abusive.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

I’ve always loved blink-182’s album covers, this one is just as awesome.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:

Helllllll no.

Final Thoughts:

I didn’t grow up on blink-182, I mean I listened to All The Small Things and I Miss You (a really great song), but for the most part I was just not into it. I tried the Christian-esque type instead (Hawk Nelson, FM Static, etc.) and those bands were great in high school, but didn’t age well. I tried the new album out of curiosity and a hope that blink-182 would help me love pop-punk, it didn’t go as expected. It didn’t age well, immediately, like it may have sounded great in the studio but as soon as it was put together as an album the thing was outdated. This genre refuses to develop (or at least I haven’t seen it develop). It’s the same ol’ same ol’. Boring songs. Immature high schoolish hooks. This is an album DOA, and I for one will not be excited if this band decides to release another album.

Blog at

Up ↑