blink-182-California (Deluxe Edition) (2017)

Record Review Requested By: Drew Brown

My Rating: 21% (F)

Pitchfork Rating: 55%

Rolling Stone Rating: 70%

Metacritic Rating: 63%

Average Rating: 52.3%

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

Disc 1

  1. Cynical
  2. Bored To Death
  3. She’s Out Of Her Mind
  4. Los Angeles
  5. Sober
  6. Built This Pool
  7. No Future
  8. Home Is Such A Lonely Place
  9. Kings Of The Weekend
  10. Teenage Satellites
  11. Left Alone
  12. Rabbit Hole
  13. San Diego
  14. The Only Thing That Matters
  15. California
  16. Brohemian Rhapsody

Disc 2

  1. Parking Lot
  2. Misery
  3. Good Old Days
  4. Don’t Mean Anything
  5. Hey I’m Sorry
  6. Last Train Home
  7. Wildfire
  8. 6/8
  9. Long Lost Feeling
  10. Bottom of the Ocean
  11. Can’t Get You More Pregnant
  12. Bored To Death (Acoustic)

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Feeling self-abusive.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

I’ve always loved blink-182’s album covers, this one is just as awesome.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:

Helllllll no.

Final Thoughts:

I didn’t grow up on blink-182, I mean I listened to All The Small Things and I Miss You (a really great song), but for the most part I was just not into it. I tried the Christian-esque type instead (Hawk Nelson, FM Static, etc.) and those bands were great in high school, but didn’t age well. I tried the new album out of curiosity and a hope that blink-182 would help me love pop-punk, it didn’t go as expected. It didn’t age well, immediately, like it may have sounded great in the studio but as soon as it was put together as an album the thing was outdated. This genre refuses to develop (or at least I haven’t seen it develop). It’s the same ol’ same ol’. Boring songs. Immature high schoolish hooks. This is an album DOA, and I for one will not be excited if this band decides to release another album.

N.A.S.A.-The Spirit Of Apollo (2009)

My Rating: 75% (B-)

Pitchfork Rating: 16%

Rolling Stone Rating: N/A

Metacritic Rating: 64%

Average Rating: 51.7%

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. Into
  2. The People Tree Feat. David Byrne, Chali2na, Gift Of Gab & Z-Trip
  3. Money Feat. David Byrne, Chuck D, Ras Congo, Seu Jorge, & Z-Trip
  4. N.A.S.A. Music Feat. Method Man, E-40 & DJ Swamp
  5. Way Down Feat. RZA, Barbie Hatch & John Frusciante
  6. Hip Hop Feat. KRS-One, Fatlip & Slim Kid Tre
  7. Four Rooms, Earth View
  8. Strange Enough Feat. Karen O, Ol’ Dirty Bastards, Fatlip
  9. Spacious Thoughts Feat. Tom Waits & Cool Keith
  10. Gifted Feat. Kanye West, Santogold, & Lykke Li
  11. A Volta Feat. Sizzla, Amanda Blank & Lovefoxxx
  12. There’s A Party Feat. George Clinton & Chali2na
  13. Whachadoin? Feat. Spank Rock, M.I.A., Santogold & Nick Zinner
  14. O Pato Feat. Kool Kojak & DJ Bãboa
  15. Samba Soul Feat. Del Tha Funkee Homosapien & DJ Qbert
  16. The Mayor Feat. The Cool Kids, Ghostface Killah, Scarface & DJ AM

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:

Want a mash up of tons of critically acclaimed musicians from hip-hop to blues/funk.

Thoughts on Album Cover:

It’s super random, just like the whole album, love it.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:

So badly.

Final Thoughts:

This is one of those absolutely amazing albums that just went unnoticed, and I’m baffled why that is. I mean look at that star studded list of featuring artists, are you freaking kidding me? This is a music fans dream of an album and I for one am not letting it slip away without giving it the proper appreciation. The album as a whole may have only gotten 75%. But the songs that work, work really well. Please listen to these guys. You’ll thank me later.

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑