Tyler, The Creator-Flower Boy (2017)

My Rating: 82% (B+)

Pitchfork Rating: 85%

Rolling Stone Rating: N/A

Metacritic Rating: 84%

Average Rating: 84% (B++)

Tracklist (Standout songs underlined):

  1. Foreword (feat. Rex Orange County)
  2. Where This Flower Blooms (feat. Frank Ocean)
  3. Sometimes…
  4. See You Again (feat. Kali Uchis)
  5. Who Dat Boy (feat. A$AP Rocky)
  6. Pothole (feat. Jaden Smith)
  7. Garden Shed (feat. Estelle)
  8. Boredom (feat. Rex Orange County & Anna of the North)
  9. I Ain’t Got Time!
  10. 911 – Mr. Lonely (feat. Frank Ocean & Steve Lacy)
  11. Droppin’ Seeds (feat. Lil’ Wayne)
  12. November
  13. Glitter
  14. Enjoy Right Now, Today

Favourite Song on Album:

Listen to This Album When You’re:


Thoughts on Album Cover:

One of his best album covers yet.

Want to Own on Vinyl?:


Final Thoughts:

Flower Boy is Tyler, The Creator’s best album yet. We’ve ditched anger for regret on this release, and it makes the project much more approachable then some of Tyler’s other work. Not only has the tone changed, Tyler seems to have taken mistakes from Cherry Bomb and added the genre he was going for with some laid back flowing on it making it more of a hip hop album then Cherry Bomb. There are even a couple songs that made me double check my iTunes to see if it was actually Tyler, a few of them reminded me of the now trendy King Krule. Tyler has compromised on Flowerboy, what the fans want and what he wants to make, and it makes for a fire album.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: